Living Bathrooms

Company Press What's new


Oct 16, 2014 —


Designer Dream Bath Competition

Duravit has chosen the winning design for its second annual Duravit Designer Dream Bath Competition. Moderated by a jury of top editors and designers, California based architects Jeannie Chung and Han Joon Kim were selected as this year’s winners. Chung and Kim will be rewarded with $15,000 worth of Duravit products to bring their 24-hour bathroom concept to life. The panel of esteemed design media judges also presented New York based architect Jason Roberts with an outstanding merit for the contemporary redesign of his Brooklyn bathroom.

Duravit USA President Tim Schroeder comments, “Jeannie and Han Joon’s redesign had a very progressive concept. We enjoyed the idea that the modern bathroom isn’t just a bathroom, but a place that should feel as comfortable as one’s bedroom. We are pleased to award them with the resources to create such a space.”

Jeannie Chung and Han Joon Kim’s design challenge for their home in Oceanside, California is to incorporate the concept of a 24-hour bathroom. It is based on the idea that the modern bathroom should be a place to “recharge, refresh, and relax from the moment we wake up until we go to bed.” One of their main focuses is to construct a space that allows for a great deal of natural ventilation and daylight. To create this, the design features sliding balcony doors for an indoor/outdoor experience, while the showers have an operable skylight directly above to permit airflow in from the balcony. Their project calls for the Vero series, using the bathtub and washbasin, as its rectangular form and overall simplicity works to reconfigure the fixtures in their L-shaped bathroom.

The honorable mention, Jason Roberts, submitted his design for a more updated and modern bathroom in a pre-war apartment building in Sunset Park, Brooklyn. He chose Duravit’s Happy D.2 washbowl and bathtub for its soft clean look, and complements it with the warm walnut accents of the vanity.

This year’s judging panel included Alan Brake (The Architect’s Newspaper), Elena Kornbluth (Interior Design), Chee Pearl Man (Chee Company), and Avinash Rajagopal (Metropolis).